top of page

Calm, cool, and collected... at least on the outside.


If I could sum up what a wedding planner absolutely has to be in just a few words, that would be it. I'd consider myself to be a pretty anxious person, to be honest, but that always comes as such a shock to my friends and loved ones. Why? Because this. is. my. motto! Fake it til you make it. So please know that I've never blogged or created a website before, but I'm putting on my big girl, blog-pants and I'm going to keep rolling here.

Staying calm, cool, and collected has so much to do with being a wedding planner/coordinator. During one wedding I coordinated, everything was going completely smoothly. Unfortunately, the bride did not listen to my red-wine warnings and spilled it all over her dress. AH! Mind you, the processional music was going and those red wine loving friends of hers were already making their way down the aisle. Luckily, she had a wedding planner (moi!) and I was able to take care of this for her quickly. Nobody missed a beat, and that's because I was prepared - and also appeared calm, cool, and collected, even though I was maaaybe not so much on the inside.

Let's just take a trip down memory lane here of some of the "stand out" moments where I've been (thank goodness!) able to help a couple out in a pinch due to being the wedding planner/coordinator: 1) the florist incorrectly pinning a boutonniere, leaving the father of the bride poked and prodded all night, 2) the bride/groom suddenly wanting to invite 5 more people to dinner last minute (I'm talking during-the-ceremony last minute) and needing more food for the guests, and 3) the florist/baker not decorating the cake with the flowers you thought you agreed on and, instead, leaving a blank, white cake... the list goes on. And that's just the quick, mental list I came up with when I was in the shower!

Trust me, there are so many other stories. Having a knowledgable planner will definitely help you minimize the chances of these problems, yet they still will come up. I hope you do yourselves the favor and call the help of a wedding planner so that we can help you truly enjoy your day, rather than you having to be preoccupied with all the nitty gritty details. And please don't leave these tasks to a family member or loved one. They want to enjoy the day with you! Plus, some tasks are just best suited for someone with experience - like pinning those darn boutonnieres and making sure those flowers look awesome on your cake.

With that said, some investments are invaluable. I'm confident that Sweet Peony Planning has pricing and packages that can work for you and your loved one(s), and I'm so excited to see what we can plan together!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page